Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login


Take the time to read our Privacy Policy.

308hjute Offline
#1 Posted : Sunday, 21 February 2016 3:07:36 PM(UTC)
308hjute

Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 2/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 116

Hi guys,

I have a quick question re: the GTS gauge lens kits. I've just put mine on today and found that the speedo lens doesn't have a hole for the odo reset button. Any reason why?

I managed to chip mine nicely as I didn't go quite big enough with my first attempt at drilling it.

Cheers

Kev
Ausjacko Offline
#2 Posted : Tuesday, 23 February 2016 10:12:04 AM(UTC)
Ausjacko

Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 30/05/2015(UTC)
Posts: 167

Thanks: 50 times
Was thanked: 6 time(s) in 6 post(s)
Funny you should ask this as I did not buy the kit as it does not have this hole for the 'change' needle. I considered the drilling option but as it needs to be on an angle- not perpendicular- to the lens I thought I would give it a miss. Mine were in pretty good shape in any case.

Was it only the GTS that had the change needle?

Cheers
Jacko
308hjute Offline
#3 Posted : Tuesday, 23 February 2016 11:17:42 AM(UTC)
308hjute

Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 2/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 116

Jacko,

Not sure which models did and didn't have the odo button. I've got a feeling my dash is originally out of a WB ute. It's been in at least 6 vehicles that I know of...

Big thanks to Tour Director for getting in touch with me to discuss the lenses. They are not made with the hole as not all models have the button. I'm not really concerned about mine as it's not a show car. The hole is probably marginally bigger than it needs to be and not on an angle. The first 5.5mm hole I put in it was pretty good but not large enough. The chipping occurred when I went to a 6mm hole.



I'm pretty happy with the kit, it definitely smartens my old dash up. Having a button on the clock is a super bonus.

Cheers
Ausjacko Offline
#4 Posted : Tuesday, 23 February 2016 9:07:10 PM(UTC)
Ausjacko

Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 30/05/2015(UTC)
Posts: 167

Thanks: 50 times
Was thanked: 6 time(s) in 6 post(s)
We have the same issue but for a different reason. I was referring to the tacho lens on a HKTG kit and the change needle. Here is a shot of mine from the inside out




And another off to the left



Seems you had the same issue but for your od reset. Weird there is no hole for this as one would think it pretty usual.

Cheers
Jacko

HGV8 Offline
#5 Posted : Wednesday, 24 February 2016 7:16:39 PM(UTC)
HGV8

Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 28/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 420

Thanks: 3 times
Was thanked: 10 time(s) in 9 post(s)
The problem there Jacko is the HT sports dash had the tacho set through the lens but the HG sports dash didn't.
j.williams
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF | YAF © 2003-2021, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.081 seconds.