Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login


2 Pages12>
VL05 Offline
#1 Posted : Saturday, 29 July 2006 8:35:34 AM(UTC)
VL05

Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 30/11/2005(UTC)
Posts: 278

Gday,talking V6's here. Just wondering if a manual VN gearbox will fit a VR. It's just I'm looking at doing a manual conversion to my VR and can only find manual VN's out there as donors.

Furthermore I asked an ebayer a few questions about a manual gearbox for sale and he said the VR V6 manual and auto engines are different? Is this true?

Many thanks in advance, Conor.

WANTED: GTS rims, seats and mirrors to suit HJ.
Dr Terry Offline
#2 Posted : Sunday, 30 July 2006 12:06:56 AM(UTC)
Dr Terry

Rank: Veteran

Reputation:

Groups: Moderator, Registered
Joined: 1/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 4,475

Hi Conor.

The VR auto V6 has an extra sensor on the cam, that the manual V6 doesnt have. The motors are otherwise mechanically the same. You will also need a VR V6 manual ECU & engine wiring harness & just ignore the extra sensor. If your VN donor car
If at first you don't succeed, just call it Version 1.0
Dr Terry Offline
#3 Posted : Sunday, 30 July 2006 12:06:56 AM(UTC)
Dr Terry

Rank: Veteran

Reputation:

Groups: Moderator, Registered
Joined: 1/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 4,475

Hi Conor.

The VR auto V6 has an extra sensor on the cam, that the manual V6 doesn't have. The motors are otherwise mechanically the same. You will also need a VR V6 manual ECU & engine wiring harness & just ignore the extra sensor. If your VN donor car
If at first you don't succeed, just call it Version 1.0
Guest
#4 Posted : Tuesday, 8 April 2008 4:35:10 AM(UTC)
Guest

Rank: Guest

Groups: Guests
Joined: 2/09/2015(UTC)
Posts: 43,987

hi ive got 94 vr commodore series 1 my gearbox wont change when i tramp it it wont change gears
Guest
#5 Posted : Saturday, 30 August 2008 3:20:00 AM(UTC)
Guest

Rank: Guest

Groups: Guests
Joined: 2/09/2015(UTC)
Posts: 43,987

Hi all,i have a VR commodore with a VN gearbox and am having trouble with the wiring harness and getting the speed sensor to work,can anyone please help me.
Cheers
commodorenut Offline
#6 Posted : Saturday, 30 August 2008 4:21:10 AM(UTC)
commodorenut

Rank: Veteran

Reputation:

Groups: Moderator, Registered, Veteran
Joined: 2/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 2,610

Best off running a VN computer, memcal & harness.

You'll never sort it out otherwise, unless you want to spend big $$ at an auto sparky, and more again on a Memcal re-map.

Cheers,

Mick
____________________________________________________________
Cheers,

Mick
_______________________________________________________________

Judge a successful man not on how he treats his peers, but on how he treats those less fortunate.
commodorenut Offline
#7 Posted : Saturday, 30 August 2008 4:21:10 AM(UTC)
commodorenut

Rank: Veteran

Reputation:

Groups: Moderator, Registered, Veteran
Joined: 2/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 2,610

Best off running a VN computer, memcal & harness.

Youll never sort it out otherwise, unless you want to spend big $$ at an auto sparky, and more again on a Memcal re-map.

Cheers,

Mick
_____________________________________________________________
Cheers,

Mick
_______________________________________________________________

Judge a successful man not on how he treats his peers, but on how he treats those less fortunate.
Guest
#8 Posted : Sunday, 31 August 2008 2:43:51 AM(UTC)
Guest

Rank: Guest

Groups: Guests
Joined: 2/09/2015(UTC)
Posts: 43,987

im looking for a auto vr series 1 gearbox im having trouble looking for one
clubby677 Offline
#9 Posted : Friday, 5 September 2008 10:57:05 AM(UTC)
clubby677

Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 20/11/2007(UTC)
Posts: 61

The motors are different between auto and manual the crank is the difference so the answer to the question is no the manual want bolt up to a auto motor.
I do have a brand new crate motor (Long V6 series 1 for manual) if you are interested ?

He who di
He who dies with the most toys wins!
Guest
#10 Posted : Friday, 19 September 2008 3:52:47 AM(UTC)
Guest

Rank: Guest

Groups: Guests
Joined: 2/09/2015(UTC)
Posts: 43,987

If You Have A series 2 vn motor up to vr the manual gearbox should fit up. due to series 1 you cant put manual behind auto engine but series 2 you can as it sais in the gregory manual check it out
Jim5.0 Offline
#11 Posted : Friday, 19 September 2008 11:22:12 PM(UTC)
Jim5.0

Rank: Veteran

Reputation:

Groups: Moderator, Registered, Veteran
Joined: 2/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 2,880

You can bolt a 5 speed up to an early VN auto engine its just that the custom flywheel to suit costs ~$450 from CRS.


If at first you dont succeed then

Jim5.0 Offline
#12 Posted : Friday, 19 September 2008 11:22:12 PM(UTC)
Jim5.0

Rank: Veteran

Reputation:

Groups: Moderator, Registered, Veteran
Joined: 2/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 2,880

You can bolt a 5 speed up to an early VN auto engine it's just that the custom flywheel to suit costs ~$450 from CRS.


If at first you don't succeed th

Guest
#13 Posted : Tuesday, 30 September 2008 9:49:16 PM(UTC)
Guest

Rank: Guest

Groups: Guests
Joined: 2/09/2015(UTC)
Posts: 43,987

DOING CONVERSION VN AUTO TO MANUAL SERIES 1 CAN ANYBODY HELP ME WITH THE TAILSHAFT DRAMA IM HAVING MY AUTO YOKE DONT SEEM TO FIT THE MANUAL BOX AND IS THE LENGTH DIFFERENT IN THE AUTO TO MANUAL SEDAN NCAN PPL SAY MANUAL TAILSHAFT LITTLE BIT LONGER CAN I U
Guest
#14 Posted : Tuesday, 7 October 2008 11:24:48 AM(UTC)
Guest

Rank: Guest

Groups: Guests
Joined: 2/09/2015(UTC)
Posts: 43,987

you will need either a manual tail shaft or the front half from a wagon etc
Guest
#15 Posted : Saturday, 11 October 2008 2:23:33 AM(UTC)
Guest

Rank: Guest

Groups: Guests
Joined: 2/09/2015(UTC)
Posts: 43,987

whats the difference in manual to auto yoke and the tailshaft
Guest
#16 Posted : Tuesday, 21 October 2008 9:33:59 AM(UTC)
Guest

Rank: Guest

Groups: Guests
Joined: 2/09/2015(UTC)
Posts: 43,987

ok got my car going real good now after that auto to manual conversion anybody tell me the standard killowatts for v6 vn series 1 manaul cheers
Guest
#17 Posted : Sunday, 30 November 2008 8:02:46 AM(UTC)
Guest

Rank: Guest

Groups: Guests
Joined: 2/09/2015(UTC)
Posts: 43,987

none of yous now what you are talking about and auto to manual change is easy if you have a v6 series 1 it has a 6 bolt crank, to change from auto to manual you will 1 need to change the flywheel 2 have a manual tailshaft the auto is two long , change the
Guest
#18 Posted : Sunday, 30 November 2008 8:06:24 AM(UTC)
Guest

Rank: Guest

Groups: Guests
Joined: 2/09/2015(UTC)
Posts: 43,987

sorry i also left out that a vn v6 series 2 has a 8 bolt crank and that a series 1 is prone to brke at the crank so a series two is better, so if you take a box from a series 1 and want to install into a series 2 a different flywheel is needed a 8 bolt fl
Guest
#19 Posted : Sunday, 30 November 2008 8:08:22 AM(UTC)
Guest

Rank: Guest

Groups: Guests
Joined: 2/09/2015(UTC)
Posts: 43,987

sorry left some thing else out make sure when removing the gearbox you leave the speedo plug in the box the difference between auto to manual is auto has a small shaft and manual has a long shaft thats it nothing else good luck
Guest
#20 Posted : Thursday, 22 January 2009 1:22:54 AM(UTC)
Guest

Rank: Guest

Groups: Guests
Joined: 2/09/2015(UTC)
Posts: 43,987

i Blew my vr series 2 gearbox and all i can get is a vn series 1 box for it will it work
Users browsing this topic
Guest
2 Pages12>
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF | YAF © 2003-2015, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.390 seconds.